Thank you for considering Sevier County as your wedding destination.
Please review ALL information below before pre-applying or requesting marriage information.
Hours & Locations:
Sevier County Courthouse:
125 Court Ave, Suite 202E Monday thru Friday
Sevierville, TN 37862 8am – arrive by 4pm
(865) 453-5502, option 3
Gatlinburg/Sevier County Clerk Office:
405 Reagan Drive 8am – arrive by 3:45pm
Gatlinburg, TN 37738 Open Mon, Wed & Fri
(865) 430-3404 (Gatlinburg Closed Tues & Thurs)
Pigeon Forge/Sevier County Clerk Office:
186 Old Mill Avenue Saturday ONLY (9am – 1pm)
Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
***We provide marriage license and tag renewal services only.***
The Sevier County Clerk's Pigeon Forge Office will be closed on Saturday, March 16, 2024. If you need a marriage license, please make arrangements to obtain one before that day.
2024 Holiday Schedule
- Both applicants must be 18 years of age
- Both applicants must be present to obtain marriage license
- Present the following:
- VALID driver’s license, state-issued photo ID card, military ID, or Passport
- AND Social Security Card
(if you are unable to provide your card you MUST know number)
NOTE: If you are a non U.S. citizen a valid passport is the only documentation required
- If either of you have been divorced or widowed, you will need to know the exact date that the divorce was final, or date of death. If the bride has a name change in her divorce and has not updated on her driver’s license, she will need to provide a certified copy of her divorce decree
- There is no blood test
- There is no waiting period
- License must be used within 30 days from the date it was obtained in our office
- License can be used same day as obtained at one of our offices
- Fee for out of state residents is $41.00 cash, or if paying by card there will be a small processing fee
- Fee for Tennessee residents in $101.00 cash, or if paying by card there will be a small processing fee
- Tennessee Premarital Waiver: Sixty dollars ($60.00) will be waived if applicants complete a four-hour premarital course and present a notarized certificate of completion. This form can be obtained in one of offices or click here for printable version.
PRE APPLY FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE
Sevier County Clerk’s office does not provide civil ceremonies. A list of wedding providers can be picked up in our office or click here for wedding provider list.
Officiant of Ceremony: The officiant (person who performs the marriage ceremony) is required to return the signed documents within three (3) business days after the marriage (BLACK INK ONLY). The applicants may return the signed documents if the officiant allows them to. Only upon the return of the signed documents will the clerk provide the applicants with their certified Marriage Certificate. The certified Marriage Certificate will be mailed, unless the applicants return the signed documents in person (please allow 2 weeks after ceremony to receive by mail).
2018 Public Chapter 1049 effective May 21, 2018
Marriages involving an applicant under the age of 18, Emancipation by marriage, or Issuance of a marriage license in violation of the law
Click here for 2018 Public Chapter 1049
If you have additional questions regarding these circumstances please call us at (865) 453-5502 option 3
Unable to appear in person
- If either individual has a physical disability preventing them from appearing in person, the applicant may submit a notarized affidavit, click here to print form or you may pick up at office locations. Additionally, a notarized consent letter is required by the attending physician on facility letterhead stating the disabled applicant is alert, oriented and aware he/she is seeking to obtain a Marriage License.
- Sevier County incarcerated individuals (Sevier County ONLY) seeking to obtain a Marriage License may submit a notarized affidavit, click here to print form or you may pick up at office locations. Additionally, a notarized consent letter by the warden or chaplain on facility letterhead stating the incarcerated applicant has been authorized to obtain a Marriage License.
- Original documents required
Marriage License Issued to Same Sex Couple
Effective June 26, 2015, same sex couples may obtain a marriage license and be married in the State of Tennessee.
Marriage License Prohibited Between Lineal Relatives
Tennessee Code Annotated “36-3-101. Prohibited degrees of relationship” states:
Marriage cannot be contracted with a lineal ancestor or descendant, nor the lineal ancestor or descendant of either parent, nor the child of a grandparent, nor the lineal descendants of husband or wife, as the case may be, nor the husband or wife of a parent or lineal descendant.
CERTIFIED COPY OF YOUR MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE:
- First you need to know what county you obtained your marriage license in
- If you obtained your marriage license in another than Sevier County you will need to contact that County Clerk Office in order to get a certified copy of your marriage certificate
- Please have the following information before requesting a certified copy of your marriage certificate:
- Applicant 1 First and Last Name (last name at time of application)
- Applicant 2 First and Last Name (last name at time of application)
- Date of Marriage
- Current Mailing Address
- Payment information (if ordering online)
- Visit our office/s: $5.00 per certified copy
(if credit card is used a small processing fee will be applied)
- Mail: $15.00 by money order or cashier check only
(no out of state checks will be accepted)
You MUST include all of the following:
- Both applicant’s names (if either person/s change their name please include name at time of marriage application)
- Both applicant’s Dates of Birth
- Date of Marriage
- Contact Phone Number
- Mailing address
- Online Certified Marriage Certificate Request:
$16.36 (credit card only)
Your request will be processed the following business day, please allow 7 – 10 days
CERTIFIED COPY OF MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE